Faculty and Staff

Tom Askew

Tom Askew,
Director of 3/2 Engineering

Phone: 269.337.7097

Email:Tom.Aksew@kzoo.edu

Office: 208C Olds/Upton Hall

Dr. Askew’s website

  • Professor of Physics, 2007 – present
  • Assistant, Associate, then Professor of Physics, Kalamazoo  College, 1991 – present
  • Director 3/2 Engineering Program, 2009 – present
  • Visiting Research Professor, Argonne National Lab 1992 – 2008
  • Technical Staff, Dupont Research, 1984 – 1991
  • M.S., P.h.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1979 – 1984
  • Research and Teaching Assistant, Princeton University, 1977 – 1979
  • B.A. Summa Cum Laude, Physics and Mathematics, Gordon College, 1973 – 1977

Arthur Cole

Arthur Cole,
Department Chair

Phone: 269.337.5722

Email:Arthur.Cole@kzoo.edu

Office: 210B Olds/Upton Hall

  • Associate Professor of Physics & Chair, Kalamazoo College, 2013 – present 
  • Assistant Professor of Physics, Kalamazoo College, 2008 – 2012
  • Ph.D. The Ohio State University, Physics, 2002
  • M.S. The Ohio State University, Physics, 1999
  • B.A. Williams College, 1994

Peter Erdi

Peter Erdi,
Henry R. Luce Professor of Complex Systems Studies

Phone: 269.337.5720

Email:Peter.Erdi@kzoo.edu

Office: 208B Olds/Upton Hall

Dr. Erdi’s website


Jan Tobochnik

Jan Tobochnik,
Dow Distinguished Professor of Natural Science

Phone: 269.337.7098

Email:Jan.Tobochnik@kzoo.edu

Office: 208A Olds/Upton Hall

Dr. Tobochnik’s website

  • Editor of the American Journal of Physics (2001 – 2011)
  • Ph.D., Cornell University, Physics, 1980
  • B.A., Summa Cum Laude, Physics, Amherst College, 1975

David Wilson

David Wilson,
Herbert H. and Grace A. Dow Assistant Professor

Phone: 269.337.7096

Email:David.Wilson@kzoo.edu

Office: 210A Olds/Upton Hall

Dr. Wilson’s website

  • Assistant Professor of Physics, Kalamazoo College, 2018 – present
  • Visiting Assistant Professor, Kalamazoo College, 2017 – 2018
  • Postdoctoral Research Scientist, University of Michigan, 2010 – 2013
  • Ph.D. Physics, University of Michigan, 2005 – 2010
  • M.S. Physics, University of Michigan, 2002 – 2005

Nuwan Kumara

Phone: 269.337.7430

Email:Nuwan.Kumara@kzoo.edu

Office: 212 Olds/Upton Hall


Tom Massura

Tom Massura,
Instrument Technician

Phone: 269.337.7099

Email:Tom.Massura@kzoo.edu

Office: 211 Olds/Upton Hall (Physics)
227 Dow Science Hall (Chemistry)


Kristen Eldred

Kristen Eldred,
Office Coordinator

Phone: 269.337.7100

Email:Kristen.Eldred@kzoo.edu

Office: 203 Olds/Upton Hall

  • B.S., Secondary Education Mathematics, Western Michigan University, 1996
  • M.A., Educational Leadership,  Western Michigan University, 2002